By Chelsey Milligan

Unlike other colleges, Eastern Illinois University includes textbook rental in the tuition fees. Students can save $900 dollars every year on textbooks.

Sophomore Rachael Rascop said, “I like that I don’t have to pay per textbook here at Eastern, I went to community college back home and I spent over $100 for every book, and this is actually a reason I picked Eastern over other colleges.”

Rascop said, “I have friends that go to different colleges across the state and they pay an outrageous amount for their textbooks. I remember last semester I had 9 books for 4 courses. Could you imagine paying for every single book?”

Eastern Illinois University charges for textbooks based on the amount of credit hours of the student. For the 2016-2017 school year, textbooks cost $9.75 per credit hour, which is a lower fee than in 2013-2014.

