By Madison Endsley

According to the Eastern Illinois Universities Key Publication Facts, this year’s percent regarding enrolled students involved in a sorority is 18% of campus total.

 

Nicole Caria, a sophomore business management major, is a Delta Zeta at Eastern. Caria is currently Sisterhood Chair which plans gatherings for bonding.

 

While talking to Caria she stated, “I am honestly surprised, I figured it would be a lot greater percentage. It’s weird, I feel like I know a lot of people but I guess it’s just Greek life but to me it seems bigger.” She then proceeded to talk about how close Greek life students are and the effort that put in to create unity throughout all chapters on campus.

 

Nicole wishes that the number will increase in future years. She feels PHC, Panhellenic Council, already does a great job. However, her idea was to reach out to incoming freshman earlier that way once they arrive at EIU they are already looking forward to signing up for formal recruitment.

 

Also, Caria wants to reach out to older students who haven’t given Greek life a chance yet because it is open to all grade levels each year.

 

Caria is highly involved throughout her house and said, “I never really wanted to join a sorority but all my friends had signed up for recruitment so I did too. Now, I cannot imagine my life without the sisterhood I created. I wish everyone on campus would look into joining because all houses offer something different to all kinds of people”

 

Fall 2017 PHC Formal Recruitment will be held Sept. 5-11. Early sign up sheet will be released June 11.

https://www.eiu.edu/grklife/join.php

FullSizeR.jpg
Left, Emily Ingala, and right, Nicole Caria pictured outside the Delta Zeta House during the 2016 Fall Formal Recruitment
