By Megan Shudrowitz

Eastern Illinois Universities 2015-2016 school year publication indicates the student to faculty ratio is 15:1. This ratio means the average class size at EIU is 17 students per class. This number may vary depending on if the course is a general education requirement or a core class.

With such a low student-to-faculty ratio, more students get the one-on-one help they need to succeed within their college years.

Bailey Wilson, a senior at EIU, wanted to find a college that wasn’t too far from home and wanted a deeper relationship with her professors.

“When I found out about EIU’s student to faculty ratio, I knew this was the place for me,” said Wilson. “When I graduate, I want to teach a class that has the same feel to it.”

Eastern Illinois University takes a lot of pride in their academics, and strive to get their students more involved in the classrooms. It is more beneficial to have teachers that are invested in their students.

“My teachers keep me accountable for my school work,” said Wilson. “I feel so much more comfortable with asking questions to teachers who actually know my name.”

Other Illinois colleges, like Illinois State University have higher ratios. There ratio of student to faculty is 19:1. This may not be a huge difference, but to some students it can be a huge deciding factor in their college search.

“I never saw myself sitting in a huge lecture hall being one of the many students in a classroom” said Wilson. “I am very satisfied with the relationships I have made with my teachers, and couldn’t see myself anywhere else.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

