By Madeline Bounds

During the 2015-2016 school year at Eastern Illinois University, the publication facts state a student to faculty ratio as 15:1, making the average class size 17 students.

According to EIU junior, Abby Lyznicki, her perspective on the student to faculty ratio seems to have increased in size since last year.

“I feel like the ratio has gone up since last year. All of my classes have more than 17 students, and I think that might have to do with the budget cuts that Eastern has been dealing with lately,” Lyznicki said.

Whether students are enrolled in a general education class, or a class specific to their major, each class size is different. Lyznicki said she enjoys the smaller class sizes because of the relationships she builds with her peers and professors, but she mentioned that she tends to pay more attention in the larger class sizes because of the way the professor interacts with his/her students.

“I feel like my professors in larger classes focus on grabbing our attention more than focusing on the communication skills between everyone. It’s actually more entertaining for me to sit through a large lecture class than it is sitting through a smaller, more intimate class,” Lyznicki said.

According to UNIGO, a network for current and future college students, a larger lecture class can be just as beneficial as smaller class sizes, contrary to popular belief.

“I do appreciate how there are a mix of class sizes though,” Lyznicki admits. “Maybe it’s not the class size that matters. I think the professor has a lot to do with it as well.”

